Maybelline makeup Haul + product review

Hello everybody !!

As you all know I did a hell lot of shopping for the last couple of months. I already shared with you my Plum and Face Shop skincare haul and product reviews in my earlier posts. Please check those out if you havn’t already 🙂

In this post I will be sharing with you my makeup haul from my favorite drugstore brand Maybelline. I absolutely love this brand since they offer very good quality makeup at quite affordable price.

I got 2 products (foundation and compact powder) from http://www.nykaa.com and they had amazing discounts on the Fit me! range. I was dying to try this range for long since almost every makeup gurus had good things to say about the ‘Fit me’ products. Also nykaa had a huge discount going on, I got them at 50% off.. Yeaaaa 😀 The real reason why I tried this range so late is I already have an old compact powder from the Fit me! range. I hate that product so much that even if everybody was raving about the new launches in this range I was really skeptical to buy anything. But then I heard Maybelline changed the formula of the compact powder and the new ones are amazing. At last I thought lets give it another try.

The other 2 products (eyeliner and mascara) I got from a Maybelline store. The liquid eyeliner is a recent launch, so thought of trying it. The Lash sensational mascara is a holy grail product for many beauty gurus, so had to try it for myself 😀 The full fan effect claim on the mascara tube was also very tempting. Earlier I have used both the Hypercurl and Falsies mascara from Maybelline Volum Express range and both products are really good.

So these are the products I bought (I have mentioned price in MRP):

  • Maybelline FIT me! Matte + Poreless Foundation ( 230 Natural Buff ) – 525 INR
  • Maybelline FIT me! Matte + Poreless Compact Powder ( 220 Natural Beige ) – 485 INR
  • Maybelline HYPER ink Liquid Liner ( Black ) – 425 INR
  • Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Fan Effect Mascara ( Washable ) – 500 INR

IMG_20170705_085418

I am using these products for around a month now. So lets start with my views about the products one by one.

Maybelline FIT me! Matte + Poreless Foundation :

IMG_20170705_085429

I have medium wheatish complexion. I am in the shade 230 Natural Buff which has yellow undertones. The shade matches with my skin perfectly. This foundation has wide range of shades, everybody can surely find one which will match their skintone. So that’s a big plus for any foundation.

The foundation is a bit runny but blends really well into the skin and gives you a medium coverage(I use beauty sponge, but it gives good results with a brush also). You can build it up to full coverage, but I will suggest not to layer too much as your skin may look too dry and cakey.

The foundation does not give you a completely matte finish, face kind of looks semi-matte which I think is good for a daily-wear foundation. It does not give you a white cast at all. It controls oiliness and gives you a smooth even look for around 4 to 5 hours without any touch-up. This foundation is light on skin so you can use it daily. It controls oil even when I sweat which is quite good for my combination skin. Even after my T-zone starts turning oily, slight touch ups can make the foundation last all day. So this foundation is really good for office / college purpose.

I even wore it for a day trip (check my post “Day Trip to Vedic Village Resort”), I used both Fit me foundation and compact without any primer to test how this product works. I needed to touch up on my T-zone and under my eyes couple of times. After 5 to 6 hours area around my nose looked shiny and the foundation faded slightly (most oily part of my face). But overall I really loved how the products worked for me.

People having very oily skin need to touch up more and it may last lesser on you.

The ‘poreless’ claim is not much true. It very slightly reduces the appearance of pores, gives a smooth look to the skin, but does not completely fill them. If you have large pore issues, you have to use a pore filling primer. Also people with dark circles / dark spots issue need to use a concealer to get complete coverage.

Disadvantages :

  • The product has a strong chemical like smell which hits your nose when you open the bottle. It remains even when you initially apply the product, but fades away after sometime. This can be a problem if you are sensitive to strong scents.
  • The biggest con of this foundation is it does not have any pump. The opening of the bottle is quite big and there is high chance that more product will pour out of it than necessary. So I will suggest you take it out at the back of your hand very slowly and then use a beauty blender / brush to apply it on your face and neck.
  • Not transfer proof. This is not a big con, but still keep in mind.

The bottle is made of glass and so it is not safe to travel with it. Moreover it does not have a pump. But the packaging is cute and sturdy, it will look good inside your vanity.

IMG_20170705_085548

Apart from few cons this foundation is really affordable for daily use and performs well. You get 30ml of product at around 500INR.

Rating : 3.5/5

I wear it to office or anywhere I want a medium coverage makeup. This foundation, little under-eye concealer and compact completes my everyday base makeup. I will surely repurchase it.

Maybelline FIT me! Matte + Poreless Compact Powder :

IMG_20170705_085737

I was really scared of this product while ordering. I have the original Fit me! compact and it is one of the most disappointing product I have ever used. It was filled with shimmer and oxidized on my face within minutes. I looked darker after using it 😦

But when I received the new compact powder I was really impressed. Maybelline has changed the formula and made it lot better than the previous one. Now it goes very well on top of the Fit me! foundation. Together they really make your base makeup matte and give you oil free smooth look. There is absolutely no shimmer in this new Fit me! compact. The powder is very finely milled and is very smooth on skin. It blends in perfectly well with beauty blender / powder brush.

I am in the shade 220 Natural Beige which has slight yellow undertones.

The packaging is compact and sturdy. It looks matching with the Fit me foundation. There is a decent sized mirror and and a puff. Only issue is if you are using the puff and mirror at the same time, you have to keep flipping the partition multiple times.

A quite affordable compact powder with great performance, definitely try this if you want to try only a single product from Fit me! range. A must-have compact !!

Rating : 4/5

Even if you put only this compact powder on bare face it will soak up the excess oil and give you slight coverage 🙂 So I really like it !! Surely will repurchase. Highly recommend.

Maybelline HYPER ink Liquid Liner :

DSC04379

I love cat eyes and so I love liquid liners 🙂 And this new baby from Maybelline is a decent product. It claims to be waterproof, sweatproof and smudgeproof. It lasts all day on my lids even without eye primer and does not smudge. But it is not completely waterproof. Sometimes the wing becomes flaky. It starts fading in the outer corner slightly if you wear it whole day.

The wand is very easy to work with and has the exact length you need for better control.

DSC04381

The tip can be used for both making a thin line or a bold line depending on how much pressure you apply. The product is not matte, its jet black and glossy.

DSC04382

Disadvantage :

  • Sometimes the liner becomes flaky specially the wing part (if you wear it without eye primer)
  • If you wear it for a whole day, the liner starts fading slightly in the outer corners (You can use eye primer to prevent this)
  • The liner is quite glossy, I prefer a more matte finish.
  • We have to dip the wand 3 to 4 times to get an opaque and uniform black line for 1 eye. You need more if you want to apply over glitter eye shadow.

Overall it is a decent black liner, but nothing very special.

Rating : 2.5/5

This is a good product, does its job well. You can give it a try if you want a new liner.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Fan Effect Mascara :

DSC04373

What new to say about a Maybelline Mascara !! I mean really… I want to know from you guys if Maybelline has ever produced a disappointing mascara. At least I dont know any. All the mascaras I have used from this brand always work well. But this one beats all others I have so far.

The Falsies Push up mascara was also launched last year. I only use it for special occasions. It gives you a very dramatic eye lash look, but my lashes feel stiff if I keep it on for long. Also the mascara is very difficult to remove. So comparatively this Lash Sensational one is better than the Falsies in my opinion because its easier to wear and still make your lashes really gorgeous.

This mascara comes in 2 forms – Washable and Waterproof. I got the washable one since I use it almost daily and its easier to remove than the waterproof one.

But definitely the waterproof one is better in terms of staying power and its safer specially if you sweat a lot / go out during rain. I feel the waterproof version makes your lashes a bit stiff, obviously that’s better if you are attending a special event.

Both versions are black and give you the same look. The packaging is typical Maybelline, but I love the pink rose gold sort of a color. The wand is quite long and the applicator head is slightly flexible, very easy to work with.

DSC04375

The ‘full fan effect’ is totally true. Look at the wand in the below pic and you will know why. You have to first coat your lashes with the small bristles and then with the large bristles separate and curl up your lashes. You can repeat 2 or 3 times depending on how much drama you want. But even if you put a single layer on you will notice a significant difference in the appearance of your lashes. You will instantly have elongated black  lashes 😀

This mascara does everything we want- makes your lashes voluminous, adds length and also slightly curls them up.

I have no difficulty applying mascara in my lower lashes with this, which is difficult in few other products.

DSC04374

Overall I LOVE this product a lot, now I know why its a holy grail product for many. Now its holy grail for me too. LOVE IT!!

Rating : 4/5

ABSOLUTELY a must have makeup product for everybody. Maybelline has some best mascaras in the world !!

So with that we come to the end of my Maybelline makeup haul + product reviews.

I hope you enjoyed reading and found my reviews helpful.

Please let me know in the comment section which product you have used out of these and your view on them.

 

 

 

Leave a comment